Rawlins County Unified School District # 105 Board of Education Meeting Minutes 6:30 p.m., May 18, 2020 Rawlins County Elementary Cafeteria

Board Members Present: Megan Rippe, Dianna Kastens, Terry Ballard, Jessica Miller, Matt Finley, Bill Finley

Others Present: Wesley Dreyer, Matt Smith, Emily Green, Lloyd Huff, Deone Horinek, public via zoom

20-190 Approval of Agenda

Motion by Dianna Kastens second by Matt Finley to approve the agenda as amended. Motion carried 6-0.

20-191 Approval of Minutes of April 20, 2020

Motion by Jessica Miller second by Dianna Kastens to approve the minutes of April 20, 2020 board meeting. Motion carried 6-0.

Discussion/Possible Action

20-192 Challenge Award of Merit

Presented the 2019 Challenge Award of Merit to High School Principal Matt Smith recognizing Rawlins County Jr./Sr. High School for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishment based on Kansas math and reading assessment results and other qualifying factors.

20-193 Donation from Vrbas Family

Motion by Dianna Kastens second by Terry Ballard to accept the \$2,000 donation from Duane V. Vrbas and Mrs. Cheryl Ann Vrbas. Motion carried 6-0.

20-194 Nomination of Kayla Unger for Kansas Teacher of Year

Kayla Unger was nominated for Kansas Teacher of the Year by Elementary School Principal Alyssa Vanderhoof.

20-195 State Audit Report

The District completed the State Audit. There is only a slight reduction in the bilingual weighting which reduced the weighted FTE from 719 to 718.6. This will result in a \$1,774 drop in general fund authority and \$547 drop in LOB authority.

20-196 Summer Projects

Reviewed and discussed summer projects that will be done at the RCES and RCHS this summer.

20-197 Future Dates and Looks for Schools in Kansas

Discussed that the KSDE has stated that we should begin planning to return to school this fall as normal. However, one or more alternative plans need to be prepared should the governor make any changes in the plan to restore normal operations.

Action Items

20-198 Summer Employees

Motion by Jessica Miller second by Matt Finley to approve employment for summer work for Libby Mosley, Nash Dunker, Cyrus Green, Tyler Beckman, Kristen Beckman, Jayden Reed, Iean Hemel, Cynthia Rodriguez, Levi Poindexter, Jessica Tully, and Olivia Tully. Motion carried 6-0.

20-199 Calendar Adjustment

Motion by Matt Finley second by Dianna Kastens to accept the changes to the calendar by adding two additional days to be used for in-service days on February 10 and April 21. Motion carried 6-0.

20-200 Handbooks First Reading

Discussed Rawlins County Elementary Handbook, Rawlins County JR/SR High Handbook, Classified Handbook, Certified Handbook and Athletic Handbook changes and advised board members to review. Final approval at June meeting.

20-201 Lunch/Textbook Fees for 2020-2021

Motion by Jessica Miller second by Terry Ballard to maintain the same lunch/textbook fees for the 2020-2021 school year with the only adjustment being to increase staff/substitute and adult guest lunch fees from \$3.75 to \$3.85. Motion carried 6-0.

20-202 Payment of Claims

Motion by Matt Finley second by Jessica Miller to approve the payment of claims. Motion carried 6-0.

20-203 Administrator Reports

Superintendent:

- Reported numbers and success with the Grab and Go Lunch program
- Extended congratulations to Elementary Principal Alyssa Vanderhoof and the birth of her newborn baby.

High School Principal:

- Encouraged board members to visit the school website where they've recognized art awards
- Students participated in State Music through audition tapes online through Sterling College
- Senior parade recognizing our graduates around Rawlins County communities was a success
- KSHSAA update: practices can begin June 1 as of now; this could still potentially change. They are allowing all activities to continue throughout the month of July, no break will be mandatory.
- RCJH/RCHS equipment check-in will be Tuesday, May 19 and Thursday, May 21
- Expressed appreciation to all teachers, parents, and community members for making the conclusion of the school year with the distance learning as successful as it could have been, as well as appreciation the hard work in winning the Challenge Award of Merit.

20-204 Executive Session for Non-Elected Personnel

Motion by Jessica Miller second by Matt Finley to go into executive session for non-elected personnel to protect the privacy of the individuals involved for 15 minutes and return to open session at 7:45pm. Executive session shall include the board and administration and athletic director Deone Horinek. Motion carried 6-0.

The board returned to open session at 7:45pm.

20-205 Action on Non-Elected Personnel

Motion by Jessica Miller second by Matt Finley to renew the following winter coaches' contracts:

Jr. High Boys Basketball Coaches: Rob Beckman, head coach; Marcy Beckman, assistant coach

Jr. High Girls Basketball Coaches: Chianti Madkins, head coach; Mike Lankas, assistant coach

Jr High Wrestling Coaches: Steve Woody, head coach; Chris Niermeier, assistant coach

High School Boys Basketball Coaches: Levi Poindexter, head coach; Rob Beckman, assistant coach

High School Girls Basketball Coaches: Deone Horinek, head coach; Emily Kastens, assistant coach

High School Wrestling Coaches: Scott Urban, head coach; Tim McFee, assistant coach

Jr. High Scholars Bowl: Sierra Lohoefener, coach

High School Scholars Bowl: Tyler Sattler, coach

Cheerleading: Rhonda Higley and Lyndsi Colgan, co-sponsors

Motion carried 6-0.

20-206 Executive Session for Non-Elected Personnel

Motion by Matt Finley second by Dianna Kastens to go into executive session for non-elected personnel to protect the privacy of the individuals involved for 15 minutes and return to open session at 8:05pm. Executive session shall include the board and administration. Motion carried 6-0.

The board returned to open session at 8:05pm.

20-207 Action on Non-Elected Personnel

Motion by Dianna Kastens second by Jessica Miller to hire Tori Ryburn as an Elementary Teacher for the 2020-2021 school year. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Jessica Miller second by Terry Ballard to accept the resignation of Erin Ginther as SPED paraprofessional with appreciation for her years of service to the district. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Jessica Miller second by Matt Finley to renew all certified staff contracts for the 2020-2021 school year. Motion carried 6-0.

20-207A Executive Session for Student Matters

Motion by Matt Finley second by Terry Ballard Kastens to go into executive session for student matters to protect the privacy of the individuals involved for 5 minutes and return to open session at 8:15pm. Executive session shall include the board and administration. Motion carried 6-0.

The board returned to open session at 8:15pm.

20-207B Executive Session for Non-Elected Personnel

Motion by Dianna Kastens second by Jessica Miller to go into executive session for non-elected personnel to protect the privacy of the individuals involved for 10 minutes and return to open session at 8:27pm. Executive session shall include the board and administration. Motion carried 6-0.

The board returned to open session at 8:27pm.

20-207C Action on Non-Elected Personnel

Motion by Jessica Miller second by Matt Finley to approve hiring Wes Dreyer as business manager for the District for the 2020-2021 school year, for up to 2 days per week. Motion carried 6-0.

20-208 Adjourn

Motion by Bill Finley second by Matt Finley to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried 6-0.

Emily Green Clerk of the Board